2020 Status of Florida’s Interlock Laws
Mothers Against Drunk Drivers (MADD) says that strong drunk-driving laws are the key to saving lives.
Mothers Against Drunk Drivers (MADD) says that strong drunk-driving laws are the key to saving lives. MADD has long championed state interlock laws which require the use of interlocks after a driver’s first conviction as a deterrent to future DUI driving.
If a driver is convicted of a DUI in Florida, Florida Statute 316.193 requires interlock devices be installed on vehicles once the convicted person has his/her license reinstated.
Florida’s DUI Conviction / Ignition Interlock Requirement
- First DUI Conviction - if court ordered
- First Conviction if 20 or minor in car - up to 6 months
- Second Conviction - at least 1 year
- Second Conviction if 20 or minor in car - at least 2 years
- Third Conviction - at least 2 years
- Fourth or More DUI Convictions – at least 5 years
Once convicted of a DUI, a driver may not only have the inconvenience of an interlock device on his/her vehicle, he/she will have the cost of installation and monthly calibration. The convicted driver must take the vehicle to a calibration facility on a monthly basis where appointments are required. The calibration takes approximately 45 minutes.
The convicted DUI driver who is required to have an ignition interlock device will pay for the installation, the monthly monitoring and calibration, and a refundable deposit on the device. If the convicted DUI driver cannot afford the installation, the court may order that a portion of any fine may be allocated to cover the cost of installation.
How does the ignition interlock work?
ALCOLOCK, which makes some of these devices, says the devices use an ethanol fuel cell sensor to provide the precision and accuracy required by the National Highway Transportation Safety Administration.
The interlock device is located inside the vehicle, near the driver’s seat, and is directly connected to the engine’s ignition system. It is an in-car breathalyzer that is composed of two parts – a handheld device with a mouthpiece that one blows into and an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) – which is physically connected to the starter. The device interrupts the signal from the ignition to the starter until a valid breath sample is provided that meets maximal alcohol guidelines in the state.
“If you or a loved one has been injured in an accident because of the negligence of another, please contact Spivey Law Firm, Personal Injury Attorneys, P.A. We have the experienced legal team to assist you 24/7. There are no costs or attorney fees until we have a monetary recovery for you,” said Fort Myers DUI Accident Attorney Randall Spivey.
Fort Myers DUI Accident Attorney Randall L. Spivey is a Board Certified Trial Attorney – the highest recognition for competence bestowed by the Florida Bar and a distinction earned by just one percent (1%) of Florida attorneys. He has handled over 2,000 personal injury and wrongful death cases throughout Florida. For a free and confidential consultation to discuss your legal rights, contact Spivey Law Firm, Personal Injury Attorneys, P.A., in Lee County at 239.337.7483 or toll-free at 1.888.477.4839, or by email to Randall@SpiveyLaw.com. Visit SpiveyLaw.com for more information. You can contact Spivey Law Firm, Personal Injury Attorneys, P.A. in Charlotte County at 941.764.7748 and in Collier County at 23