Skip to Content

What Is Florida’s 14-Day Rule?

July 1, 2021 | Category: Automobile Accidents | Share

“Florida Statute 627.736 that governs no-fault insurance states accident victims must seek ‘initial services and care’ within 14 days of an accident to be eligible to claim personal injury protection benefits. There may be some exceptions to the 14-day rule, but we recommend victims seek medical attention immediately after being in an accident even if they do not feel injured. There are many types of injuries that do not display symptoms right away. Some even appear days or weeks after an accident.  Injuries may also become worse if they are not diagnosed and treated immediately following an accident. If an accident victim fails to seek care within the first two weeks, insurers may deny any medical claim,” said Fort Myers Personal Injury Lawyer Randall Spivey of Spivey Law Firm, Personal Injury Attorneys, P.A.

What is Florida's 14-Day Rule - Spivey Law“Initial services and care” must be in accordance with Statute 627.736:

Initial services and care that are lawfully provided, supervised, ordered, or prescribed by a physician licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459, a dentist licensed under chapter 466, a chiropractic physician licensed under chapter 460, or an advanced practice registered nurse registered under s. 464.0123 or that are provided in a hospital or in a facility that owns, or is wholly owned by a hospital. Initial services and care may also be provided by a person or entity licensed under part III of chapter 401 which provides emergency transportation and treatment.

Without proof of a victim’s medical injuries through diagnosis and associated bills, the accident victim will not be able to recover expenses in any personal injury lawsuit for any accident caused by the negligence of another, including car accidentslip, and fallmotorcycle accidentdrunk driving accidentproduct liability claim, or another type of incident altogether.

Emergency rooms are usually the first visit an accident victim will have. This is where the staff can access any injuries and decide about any further action steps. An “emergency medical condition’ is a legal term used in Florida as one of the qualifying factors for receiving the full amount of no-fault insurance coverage. Emergency medical conditions are generally debilitating.

“We at Spivey Law Firm, Personal Injury Attorneys, P.A. have the experience to assist accident victims from the day of the accident to a favorable conclusion. We represent people involved in numerous types of personal injury and wrongful death accidents throughout the state of Florida. All of our clients have unique personal injury cases. Our firm provides personal contact and communication along with aggressive representation. To see what our clients have to say about our services, please go to Testimonials. We are available 24/7, and there are no costs or attorney fees until we receive a monetary recovery for Florida accident victims,” said Fort Myers Personal Injury Lawyer Randall Spivey.

Fort Myers Personal Injury Lawyer Randall L. Spivey is a Board Certified Trial Attorney – the highest recognition for competence bestowed by the Florida Bar and a distinction earned by just one percent (1%) of Florida attorneys. He has handled over 2,000 personal injury and wrongful death cases throughout Florida. For a free and confidential consultation to discuss your legal rights, contact Spivey Law Firm, Personal Injury Attorneys, P.A., in Lee County at 239.337.7483 or toll-free at 1.888.477.4839, or by email to Visit for more information. You can contact Spivey Law Firm, Personal Injury Attorneys, P.A. in Charlotte County at 941.764.7748 and in Collier County at 239.793.7748.




Contact Us


Spivey Law Firm Logo Spivey Law Firm 13400 Parker Commons Blvd.
Fort Myers, Florida 33912

(239) 337-7483

Free Consultation