"When driving in Florida whether it be cars, trucks, SUVs, motorcycles, golf carts or any other vehicle, drivers must know and follow Florida's laws," says Southwest Florida Accident Attorney, Randall Spivey of Spivey Law Firm, Personal Injury Attorneys, P.A.
Vehicle insurance and Florida driving privileges -
Insurance companies in Florida are required by law (324 F.S.) to notify the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles when they do not renew, or they cancel, any vehicle insurance policy providing personal injury protection or property damage liability benefits, or both. When you no longer have personal injury protection and property damage liability insurance required by Florida law, your failure to do so may result in the loss of your registration and driving privileges in the state. A non-refundable fee of $150 is required to be paid to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles for reinstatement of a driver's license or registration for the first reinstatement, $250 for the second reinstatement, and $500 for any subsequent reinstatement during the three years following the first reinstatement.
Unlike other states, Florida law pertaining to the insurance requirements for motorcycles does not mirror the requirements for four-wheeled vehicles. Insurance requirements for motorcycles in Florida are different from those for four-wheel vehicles. A summary of motorcycle requirements will be found at Motorcycles.
Busy intersections are the scenes of many vehicle crashes -
Alert drivers know there is a lot of traffic activity at intersections. They also realize that all signs, including pavement markings, signal lights, and signs such as prohibiting turning right on red are all traffic control devices. If drivers ignore these traffic control devices, they are breaking Florida law and are subject to fines. More importantly, they are putting themselves and others at risk of be in vehicle crashes. Here is a useful summary on Florida's traffic control devices. Traffic Control Devices
Collier, Lee, Charlotte County Accident Attorney,Randall L. Spivey is a Board Certified Civil Trial Attorney – the highest recognition for competence bestowed by the Florida Bar and a distinction earned by just one (1%) percent of Florida attorneys. He has handled over 2,000 personal injury and wrongful death cases throughout Florida. For a free and confidential consultation to discuss your legal rights, contact the Spivey Law Firm, Personal Injury Attorneys, P.A., in Lee County at 239. 337.7483 or toll free at 1.888.477.4839, or by email to Randall@SpiveyLaw.com. Visit SpiveyLaw.com for more information. You can contact Spivey Law Firm, Personal Injury Attorneys, P.A. in Charlotte County at 941.764.7748 and in Collier County 239.793.7748.