How to Seek Compensation in a Hit-and-Run AccidentFebruary 6, 2019 | Category: Automobile Accidents | Share
Leaving the scene of an accident is a criminal offense in Florida. Conviction can result in misdemeanor or felony penalties dependent upon whether the accident caused injury or death. If convicted, the penalties could include up to five years in prison, or five years probation, and a $5,000 fine. If property is damaged and there are no injuries or deaths, then leaving the scene could lead to up to 60 days in jail and a fine of $500, if convicted.
February is national “Hit-and-Run Awareness Month.” The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV) wants to remind motorists to stay at the scene when involved in a crash.
A DHSMV press release said that since 2014, a driver leaves the scene of the accident in a quarter or all crashes every year. Florida law says drivers must stop immediately at the scene of a crash resulting in injury or death, on either public or private property.
“It is your responsibility to remain at the scene and immediately report the crash to law enforcement,” said Florida Highway Patrol Director Colonel Gene S. Spaulding. “You should do your best to provide immediate assistance to other motorists, passengers or pedestrians that may have been injured in the crash and wait for emergency first responders to arrive.”
Should you or a loved one be injured in a hit-and-run accident, there are steps that need to be taken after seeking medical help. These steps include contacting a skilled legal firm to assist in getting you the compensation you deserve. The compensation received often includes an award for lost wages, medical bills for services, present and in the future, and compensation for the loss of services.
“There are also non-economic damages which consist of damages suffered by the injured that are not directly or easily accounted for financially. Generally, non-economic damage claims are based on the accumulated physical, psychological, and social suffering of the plaintiff following the accident at-issue,” said Attorney Randall Spivey of Spivey Law Firm, Personal Injury Attorneys, P.A. “Should a hit-and-run driver not be found, then payment for claims as the result of the accident could come through the victim’s own insurance policy under the uninsured motorist bodily injury and uninsured motorist property damage liability coverage. Even if your own insurance company may be liable, it is still very important to have an attorney. Insurance companies are in business to make a profit, not to settle claims. Having an experienced legal team on your side is the best way to obtain a favorable outcome. Our experienced legal team is available to assist you. Please contact us 24-7 for a ‘no fee’ consultation.”
Fort Myers Car Accident Attorney, Randall L. Spivey is a Board Certified Trial Attorney – the highest recognition for competence bestowed by the Florida Bar and a distinction earned by just one (1%) percent of Florida attorneys. He has handled over 2,000 personal injury and wrongful death cases throughout Florida. For a free and confidential consultation to discuss your legal rights, contact the Spivey Law Firm, Personal Injury Attorneys, P.A., in Lee County at 239.337.7483 or toll free at 1.888.477.4839,or by email to Randall@SpiveyLaw.com. Visit SpiveyLaw.com for more information. You can contact Spivey Law Firm, Personal Injury Attorneys, P.A.in Charlotte County at 941.764.7748 and in Collier County 239.793.7748.