Skip to Content

What Are Your Responsibilities After a Vehicle Accident?

February 20, 2024 | Category: Automobile Accidents, Motorcycle Accidents, Truck Accidents | Share

When accidents occur, everything seems to be happening at once and confusion can set in. It may be difficult to know where to start; what you need to do, and in what order. The effects of some accidents can change lives forever, so it is important to be prepared and know before accidents occur what needs to be done.

Florida Requirements After Vehicle Accidents

What are your responsibilities after a vehicle accidentThe Florida DMV drivers’ handbook says the following: “If you are involved in a crash that results in death, injury, or property damage, it is your duty – required by law – to give information and render aid. Always remain calm.

  1. Stop and call 911, *FHP (*347) or local law enforcement.
  2. Turn on hazard lights.
  3. If anyone is hurt, you must get help immediately!
  4. If the crash is minor, and the vehicle is blocking the flow of traffic, you must move it or have it moved.
  5. Exchange vehicle, witness, and driver information (name, address, phone number, license plate number, and insurance information.)
  6. Take photos or sketch the scene, showing vehicle crash locations.”

When law enforcement arrives at the scene of an accident, they will usually complete a crash report. Further information from the Florida DMV drivers’ handbook is available at

Florida Personal Injury Law Firm Provides Drivers with Accident Forms

“We at Spivey Law Firm, Personal Injury Attorneys, P.A. provide a Florida Accident Form for all drivers. This form has space to complete the information you will need should you be in an accident. The Florida Accident Form can be copied and should be kept in the glove compartments of all your vehicles, so they are available when needed,” said Florida Personal Injury Attorney Randall Spivey.

Seeking Medical Assistance

Florida has a 14-day accident law. This law requires anyone involved in an auto accident in the state to seek medical treatment within 14 days of a motor vehicle accident in order to use personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.

Regardless of the severity of an accident, people involved in vehicle accidents should seek medical attention as soon as possible after the accident. Some injuries may not be symptomatic for days later. Injuries must be accurately diagnosed so treatment may start as quickly as possible. If there are internal injuries, accident victims may incur medical emergencies.

Failing to seek medical treatment can raise questions about the severity of the injuries. Insurance companies could argue that if the accident victim did not seek treatment immediately, he or she could not be seriously injured.

Once a diagnosis has been made, accident victims must follow the physician’s orders. If further treatment, physical therapy, light work duty, or not returning to work are prescribed, accident victims must comply.

Florida Personal Injury Attorney Assists Victims of Negligent Drivers

"After seeking medical attention, we encourage accident victims to contact Spivey Law Firm. We have an experienced team ready to aggressively seek the compensation to which you are entitled. We have a select team of investigators, consultants, paralegals, and medical experts ready to work for you. There are no costs or attorney fees until we receive a monetary recovery for you.  Please contact us 24/7 at 239.337.7483, toll-free at 1.888.477.4839, or contact us online at,” said Attorney Spivey.



Contact Us


Spivey Law Firm Logo Spivey Law Firm 13400 Parker Commons Blvd.
Fort Myers, Florida 33912

(239) 337-7483

Free Consultation